Ghost

I don’t believe in ghosts and yet … I have to allow the possibility. This place is haunted. Or so it would seem. Last night I heard voices. I shouted and tried to light a candle to see who had arrived to keep me company. But there was no one. I suppose it is the way the wind howls in the chimney but I could have sworn I heard laughter. And banter. I couldn’t hear the words, but I heard the tone of voice. Two men. The sound of their voices seemed to pass right through the bothy. Copyright: Hugh Noble, December 1999

Photobucket

Responder

